• Alberni Valley Bulldogs
  • Chilliwack Chiefs
  • Coquitlam Express
  • Cowichan Capitals
  • Langley Rivermen
  • Merritt Centennials
  • Nanaimo Clippers
  • Penticton Vees
  • Powell River Kings
  • Prince George Spruce Kings
  • Salmon Arm Silverbacks
  • Surrey Eagles
  • Trail Smoke Eaters
  • Vernon Vipers
  • Victoria Grizzlies
  • Wenatchee Wild
  • West Kelowna Warriors
Team Sites
Follow the BCHL

Alumni Puskarich up for Hobey Baker Award

February 7, 2014: Vermont's Mario Puskarich (21). The University of Vermont defeated the University of New Hampshire 5-2 in a regular season Hockey East game at Whittemore Center in Durham, NH.

Release from the BCHL:

There are 11 BCHL alumni up for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award, as announced by the voting committee today.
Given annually to the top player in NCAA men’s hockey, the Hobey Baker recognizes players for their excellence on the ice but also for their academic achievement and community contributions.
At this stage of the process, there are 66 players eligible and fans can vote once per day for their choice via the Hobey Baker Facebook page. BCHL alums up for votes right now are:

NCAA program
BCHL Team(s)
Michael Garteig
Powell River Kings, Penticton Vees
Prince George, B.C.
Danton Heinen
Surrey Eagles
Langley, B.C.
Mario Puskarich
Langley Rivermen
Fort Walton Beach, Fla
Luke Juha
Penn State
Vernon Vipers
Mississauga, Ont.
Max French
West Kelowna Warriors
West Kelowna, B.C.
Mitch Gillam
Chilliwack Chiefs
Peterborough, Ont.
Tyler Morley
Surrey Eagles
Burnaby, B.C.
Kevin Boyle
West Kelowna Warriors
Manalapan, NJ
Alex Petan
Michigan Tech
Coquitlam Express
Delta, B.C.
Jordan Masters
Arizona State
West Kelowna Warriors
Rochester, NY
Jamie Phillips
Michigan Tech
Powell River Kings
Caledonia, Ont.
Criteria for choosing the finalists is weighted with fan voting accounting for a minority percentage. The list will be narrowed to 10 finalists as the road to the NCAA Frozen Four begins. A ‘Hobey Hat Trick’ of three players will be announced after that with the winner ultimately being named during the Frozen Four, happening this year from April 7 to 9 at Tampa Bay Times Forum.
Former BCHLers to win the Hobey Baker Memorial Award are Ryan Duncan (North Dakota, 2007), Jason Krog (New Hampshire, 1999), Brendan Morrison (Michigan, 1997) and Paul Kariya (Maine, 1993). Other notable names to win are Neal Broten (1981), George McPhee (1982), Chris Drury (1998), Ryan Miller (2001), Matt Carle (2006), Johnny Gaudreau (2014) and Jack Eichel (2015).